The Miniaturists at the Arcola Theatre

This year marks the 10 year anniversary of The Miniaturists. Since 2005, The Miniaturists has been bringing together the best in new short-form plays by established and emerging playwrights, helping to popularise the short play evening format with theatre audiences.


Over the past decade, writers including David Eldridge, Moira Buffini and Nick Payne have written miniature plays and actors and directors including Ned Bennett, Erica Whyman, Rory Kinnear, Raquel Cassidy and Olivia Poulet have helped stage them. Developed, produced and staged all within a short time, these plays quickly become mini productions with fully-realised sound, lighting and costume. Founded by writer Stephen Sharkey and curated by Will Bourdillon and Declan Feenan (also both playwrights themselves), The Miniaturists presents award-winning playwrights alongside some of the hottest new talent.

Arcola_TheatreThis Birthday Bash celebrates the ten years of original work at the heart of this writer-led event and the ongoing success of The Miniaturists in bringing together playwrights, actors and directors who may not otherwise have met. The writers for Miniaturists 54 will be: James Fritz, Stephen Jeffreys, Owen McCafferty, Poppy Corbett and John O’Donovan. For more information and to buy tickets see the Arcola website:

Categories: News

Tagged as: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s